ijil Rainbow Hawk Giver

By ijilRHG

Toxic Rot Within

My daughter posted this on her drawing blog, The Drawing Unicorn, expressing her observation of her day today. She posts a drawing a day, much like we post a photo a day here on Blipfoto.

This is what she wrote:
"Today there has just been a background hum of just? over all negativity. Mum has been reading and following the Occupy Movement for weeks. Today she was watching videos about police abuse and similar subject matter.
The whole Occupy Movement has either become a joke to some, or a real cause for others. The situations that have caused it are just? truly toxic. It is not an external parasite or problem affecting a whole healthy creature, it is a matter of internal rot affecting a worn and skeletal ideal; to my eyes at least.
While this rot remains, the whole will have a much harder time healing.
Done in my Pocket Moleskine with a Zebra ball point pen and a green Tul pen. This Moleskine only has one spread left! I am am really excited to be finishing."


I think she has captured the essence of the Occupy Movement quite well, as artist often have a way of doing better than other mediums.
I know that I did not understand history until I was in college and took Art History, then everything made so much more sense to me.

She is also talking about entering another sketchbook contest which sounds quite interesting in Brooklyn, New York. Art House Coop Sketchbook Project. I hope she does it. I think it would be very interesting to do and also to go and see the sketch books.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.