Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

Double take at bathtime

Oh so beat and tired today. What a week. I'll back Blip including my first attempt to buy a tree which ended up being an aborted attempt after 1hr due to a city-wide black out caused by gale and hurricane force Santa Ana winds.

By myself with the boys all week. Feels like I've been making the same repeat phone calls forever trying to sort a few things out. The boys have been great though and are loving the start of Christmas. That said, I did expect Calllum's advent calendar to last more than just one day, the remains of it I found shortly after, if not of course until the first day of Christmas. Thinking on Christmas: why are Christmas trees sometimes taken down on the Second Day when as it's only just beginning then? Our gorgeous 7ft tree that I managed to get home and into the house by myself, only to struggle with getting up, was then helped into position at the last moment by a kindly neighbour. I look forward to it glowing warmly in my home until the Epiphany.

Loving how they're loving Christmas.

Today I returned to my ob/gyn's office as shockingly it's been 3 years, basically since I had Callum. And they took my box of Moo business cards for their stand. A full work up, vaccinations and tests that are required for my new part time job as a newborn in-hospital photographer, which at present I'm planning on doing a few days a month, picked the boys back up from school and very little else this afternoon. Our day ended with The Night Before Christmas which I read to them whilst snuggled up in Reuben's new bed, only to then join Callum in his snuggling him (and it seems me for a bit) to sleep.

Am hoping some negotiations towards a couple of scoops will come to fruition as they'll offer quite a different and exciting photography direction for me. We'll see.

Edit: I just looked back to last year and saw that Reuben had learnt the Santa sign. Ironically I asked him tonight what it was and he pulled it back from his memory banks.

BackBlip

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.