Steve Kydd

By SteveKydd

Robert Louis Stevenson

The Robert Louis Stevenson plaque in St Giles Cathedral, Edinburgh.

RLS died in Samoa, this day, in 1894.


The plaque was designed by Augustus Saint-Gaudens, however the original design had the author holding a cigarette, not a pen.

Large


RLS was buried at Mount Vaea, Samoa, on a spot overlooking the sea.
He had always wanted his 'Requiem' inscribed on his tomb:

Under the wide and starry sky,
Dig the grave and let me lie.
Glad did I live and gladly die,
And I laid me down with a will.
This be the verse you grave for me:
Here he lies where he longed to be;
Home is the sailor, home from sea,
And the hunter home from the hill.





Robert Louis Stevenson
Born in Edinburgh - 13th November 1850
Died in Samoa - 3rd December 1894


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.