bimble

By monkus

Friedhof der Namenlosen

The cemetary of lost names.

This cemetary is where the Donau and the Donau Kanal meet, where the nameless return to the shore in the flow of the waters and this also explains why it is situated here on the edge of Wien. I find it very humbling, although the dates end in 1930 there are always fresh flowers here, they may be nameless but they are not forgotten.

Inside are the graves of suicides and the murdered, drunks who have fallen into the Donau, accidents; all accepted by the graveyard as they were by the waters.

I first saw this place in a calender two or three years ago and I thought, how wonderful and that I must visit. I come from Leith which is an old port and so the sea has always played a part in my life and I always think that feel more comfortable when I am not too far from water.

Today was a little less misty in the city, slightly moreso here although I am not sure if the misted effects were caused by the cold air on a warm lens.
As ever there were better focussed, sharper and coloured attempts to capture my feelings......this time I don't care. I really wanted to make an expressive blip of this place and if I get really lucky then it will bring someone else to visit them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.