cyclops

By cyclops

Wyre Piddle


Just back from a weekend with the in-laws. We had a lovely time, although most of the entertainment was in the form of eating as the weather was just horrible. My wife's clan are all white wine drinkers, a beverage I seldom partake of. Knowing I have a fondness for real ale, my wife's mother got in a nice selection for me, including Spitfire, Fursty Ferret, and this "Wyre Piddle" which was entirely new to me, but very good! Thanks for the beer, and for a most enjoyable weekend.

Coming back from Windermere this evening I bypassed the traffic in Kendal and took a short cut through Burneside and along the Shap road to join the M6. Unfortunately the road was blocked by fallen trees near Shap, so my short cut added an hour to my total journey time. There were no helpful "Road Closed" signs the route I took, but as I got into Kendal there were signs there. It clearly never occurred to the authorities that anyone going to Shap might be approaching from any other angle, including Burneside.

I used my extended journey home to catch up on some Radio 4 podcasts - I always enjoy "From Our Own Correspondant" and the "News Quiz". For balance, I also listened to some highlights from Chris Moyles!

Time to settle down and watch the first in the new series of Top Gear now however...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.