A seasider's view

By cabrogan

Evidence of the busman's holiday

This morning I put in a shift at Shortie's school Christmas fayre, and tended the book stall.... I think it took about £30, which isn't a huge, but we'd had less donations than last year, so I'm still chuffed.

I was really touched when a wee boy came over and got his Nan a book, and he clearly didn't have a lot of money to play with. I have a feeling the same boy did the same thing last year. It was like a gym hall version of the current John Lewis advert, it's so easy to assume kids don't learn the art of giving, and I was nearly tearing up :o)

Anyway, the fayre was suitably busy, despite the weather, and everyone seemed to enjoy themselves. And I got a poke of marshmallow top hats to eat all by myself, as well as bits and pieces for Shortie. Result.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.