She left me on Friday...

By DiscoDown

Would you stay on standby...

...because I need another alibi.

For those who don't know, the title of my journal, "She left me on Friday..." is taken from a Shed Seven song of the same name. On the day I opened my Blip journal, I was wearing a Shed Seven t-shirt with the opening line on the front of my shirt, and the second line on the back. The two lines together read, "She left me on Friday, and ruined my weekend." My signature on Blip, DiscoDown, is also the name of a Shed Seven song. You could say I'm a fan.

So, it was Shed Seven tonight at the Barras in sunny Glasgow. It's always a great night when the Sheds play the Barras. The band seem to step it up a gear for that venue and it's a real party atmosphere. They didn't disappoint at all, and brought a three-piece brass section with them, which really added an extra dimension. They always do a cover from a famous influence of theirs, and tonight's was Panic by The Smiths. My wife was a big Smiths fan and she seemed to think they did a good version. I loved it. I left the place having lost my voice, gained a ringing in my ears, and with more than a smatter of beer over my general person.

I knew I wouldn't get in with an SLR, so I took the panasonic compact with me that has never let me down before. Due to a combination of jumping around like a bloody idiot for most of the night, other people jumping about like bloody idiots, and the number of pints being chucked around the room, I couldn't get very close to the front and keep the camera in my hand or in good shape, so I had to compromise and try to get some shots from further away. It was very dark and I forgot to limit the ISO, so I ended up with either very dark shots, very blurry shots, or very noisy shots. I've done my best to find the one with the best compromise between all of these. I'll try hard to get better shots at the Duran Duran gig on Sunday (my wife will be delighted if I can get any good shots of John Taylor!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.