'We are what we do.'

By Hasywell

Aren't I clever! Look what I have caught!

Since having the dogs, Suki (the cat) no longer brings presents for me, they are very much for the dogs. The pattern is: Suki will catch a mouse, bring it into the house ( usually at 2am!), call for the dogs, drop the mouse and let the dogs find it again! When said mouse has been recaptured (usually by Jem) it is lovingly brought upstairs to show me! There it stays, in the mouth until she decides to eat it!

Three beautiful things:

A bacon sandwich - and a much needed catch up with my friend. Friends are so important at this time of year!

The festive feeling - of the school Christmas fair, followed by a lantern parade down to the village pub where the Christmas tree lights were lit. Afterwards mulled wine and mince pies were enjoyed whilst being entertained with Christmas sketches by the local drama group and choir. There is something special about a village Christmas get together.

A painting - of a light joule which I was given today. It is so beautiful and uplifting. Hopefully lighting the way to new opportunities and more positive outcomes.

Whilst today, has been lovely it has also been very hard. This time of year can be hard for people emotionally and I felt it today. It didn't help having my ex turn up at the fair today. We haven't been together for a long time now, and I know that it was the right outcome for us not to be together but that doesn't mean that you stop loving someone. I guess, this is when turning 40 soon does worry me, I did not expect to find myself single and childless at this time in my life. However, perhaps I wouldn't be able to make a difference to the children I teach if things were different.

One thing to be grateful for:

Great neighbours who you can call on in times of need.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.