Get Back to Me

By GetBacktoMe

Zummer of '63

Back on Fathers' Day on June 19th this year I posted a photo of a picture painted by my dad as a proposal to my mum.

Today mum was having a sort out for Christmas decorations when she came across this:
The card Dad created for Christmas 1963, which he sent to a number of families we met when on holiday in Devon earlier in the year, as I recall, and as you can see from the caricature, it rained constantly.

Once the design was drawn dad traced it onto a number of cards which he then hand painted. As children we were encouraged to make our own Christmas cards, although neither I, or my siblings, inherited his artistic talent.
Many of the friends from 1963 have fallen by the wayside, but we are still in touch with one family, sadly they wont be getting a personalised card this Christmas.

I remember dad's jacket well, it was a very rough, itchy fabric, the wooden surf board is still seeing active service most summers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.