OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Gull

I thought that this was just a black-headed gull, but then realised that it is a actually a disguised spy camera set up to catch illegal dumpers.

Not really, it is just a gull.

Pretty heavy wintry showers through the night. That, or someone was standing outside my window chucking gravel at my window for several hours.

It was clear enough for a cycle around in the morning. I went down to Scapa Bay and watched a male hen harrier hunting over the fields on the way. Not too much on the Bay, though lots of long-tailed duck making a racket. Back in the town I added a couple of species to my list of birds on the Peedie Sea- pochard and scaup joined the goosander, goldeneye, gadwall, red-breasted merganser, tufted duck, long-tailed duck, mallard as well as heron, turnstone, and ringed plover.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.