send me back to the wild!

By davidpritchard

Stretching out

I went out in search of a bit of colour this evening, and caught this at the end of a very wet, grey end to the day. My elastic band got double duty today, holding a small chamois leather in place to keep the zoom mechanism dry. This was another go at sensor dodging, which seemed like a good idea as I had my gloves on anyway.

Because the diameter of the Tamron 18-270mm PZD is quite small (62mm), the lens hood is quite effective at keeping the rain off. However, when drops do reach the front element, they take up a large proportion of the frame compared to other lenses, so you do have to be prepared to wipe it down frequently if you're going to use it in the wet.

Nikon D300; Tamron 18-270mm @ 30mm; ISO 100; F/13; 13s. VC off.

To see evidence of this, see the images here?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.