In praise of farting around

Went up the road to buy some paper, and it put me in mind of something Kurt Vonnegut said about buying an envelope:

"Oh well, you're not a poor man (says his wife) You know, why don't you go online and buy a hundred envelopes and put them in the closet?" And so I pretend not to hear her. And go out to get an envelope because I'm going to have a hell of a good time in the process of buying one envelope. I meet a lot of people. And, see some great looking babes. And a fire engine goes by. And I give them the thumbs up. And, and ask a woman what kind of dog that is. And, and I don't know. The moral of the story is, is we're here on Earth to fart around.

I'd be exaggerating if I said I'd met any babes or seen a fire engine. But it was a pleasant stroll, the dog was a border terrier, and I eventually got the feeling back in my frozen fingers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.