Let There Be Light

By solli

A Face Only A Mother Could Love

I've never seen a bird like this up close and personal but fate opened the door today. My friend was showing me around her new neighborhood when I spotted two birds circling round and round in the sky. "Look! They're up to something!" I said to N. "Pull over!" I jumped out of the car and ran. Poor N.

I saw this bird roosting on a chimney so I snapped a few shots. At that moment, a woman walking her dog called out: "Do you know what they are? They're turkey buzzards and a crazy man who lives over there feeds them! Can you believe it? He feeds them butter! And crackers! He's crazy!

She pointed "over there" and as if on cue, this guy flew over there so I followed. I saw six or seven turkey vultures perched on the roofs and chimneys of four homes. The vultures ownship of the area was apparent and I half expected to see a lunatic come out his back door bearing a stick of butter and a plate of Saltines. The scene was repulsively fascinating. I loved it.

It's interesting to note that the Turkey Vulture species receives special legal protections under the Migratory Bird Treaty Act of 1918 in the United States, by the Convention for the Protection of Migratory Birds in Canada, and by the Convention for the Protection of Migratory Birds and Game Mammals in Mexico.

In the USA it is illegal to take, kill, or possess Turkey Vultures, and violation of the law is punishable by a fine of up to 15,000 US dollars and imprisonment of up to six months.

Now for a refreshing and purifying view of a foggy tree please click here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.