This is Kristina's Life

By kristinaj

Enjoying some R&R

When I adopted Collin, I proudly mentioned all the goodies I had waiting at home for him to the woman who owned the rescue organization: new bowls, toys, a collar, leash, bed, etc....

Her response has stood ingrained in my mind since she first said it nearly 6 years ago: "Oh my! How exciting! He's never had a bed in his whole life!"

Something about that just crushed me. Collin was found tied to a truck and living in South Central LA with a homeless couple. He'd been clearly attacked by other dogs and weighed half of what he should've weighed. The hispanic couple named him some generic name like "yellow dog." All I know is the name started with "CO." When he was rescued by Downtown Dog Rescue, they decided to keep the CO from his original name and named him Collin.

Yes, my boy was tortured and abused before I got him, but all he did was offer my family unconditional love from the moment we met him. The LEAST I could do would be to get him a proper bed. I, of course, took this to an extreme and gave him his own embroidered pillow along with my favorite childhood blanket.

Thus began our nightly tradition: I say, "Collin, time for bed!" and he jumps off of the couch, walks into my room, sits in his bed (waiting for me to adjust his pillow for him), plops down, and I tuck him in. He'll stay in his bed all night--warm, cosy, and happy.

It really was the LEAST I could do for him. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.