Captain's Logbook

By CaptainSensible

Rice bowl.

An early evening blip!

Work took me to Stratford (East London) today, so I had a go on the Docklands Light Railway. It feels a bit wierd being on a train with no driver. I sat at the back hoping to get a movement blip but I got all self conscious with all the other passengers looking on - so I bottled it. I took this from the platform at Canning Town station.

I heard that when the Millenium Dome was put up for sale that a Japanese consortium pulled out of a deal because it looked like a rice bowl with the chopsticks sticking out of it. Apparently it's bad luck to leave chopsticks sticking out of a rice bowl. If anyone can corroborate either the story or the tradition I would be really interested to hear.

Taking this made me realise I must get out and about more. I feel there have been too many flower blips and swinging lights and things.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.