CarolineJay

By CarolineJay

BADGERS

I went up to Newcastle today and across to Gateshead to meet a old friend for lunch. On the way I passed the Cathedral Church of St Nicholas, which I've never really noticed or known about before, so I thought I'd go inside (no this isn't the cue for a C&W song) and have a look. The blip is the ceiling in the Lantern Cafe, which is the Cathedral Hall, and do you think I can find any information about it anywhere? No! All I can tell you is that "a hall, library, vestry and subsidiary rooms were added on the north-east side of the cathedral in 1926 to the design of architect W.H. Wood and extended in 1984 by R.G. Sims." If anyone out there knows any more about it, please let me know. I seemed to be the only person in there taking any notice of it at all. Whenever it was painted, I think it's lovely. Look closer.

Anyway, we had lunch and had a quick look around the Turner Prize show, which I have to say I found underwhelming, although George Shaw's paintings using Humbrol enamel paint on board impressed us. We were diverted by seeing abseiling window cleaners on the Sage, which Meles has blipped, and I signally failed to get a decent picture of us, either singly or together. Which is a pity, because we share a distinguishing feature from which she takes her journal name, and which would have given me the excuse to link to this old thing which has been going around the internet for years, but still makes me laugh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.