chris's daily photo

By ChrisOrrell

ashura shrine

Well I hadn't taken my photo for blip yet, so on my way home from picking my daughter up from her afterschool activity (Duke of Edinburgh Award) I decided to turn at the Aali roundabout and take a picture of the mosque near the potters, but as I drove in I saw lots of black flags and an Ashura Shrine. Normally at this time of year there are black flags trimmed with red or green decorating all the streets in and out of the Shi'a villages and shrines similiar to this one on lots of corners, but this year the "celebrations "have been much muted due to our "troubles" earlier in the year which are still smouldering. I thought this blip would go well along side yesterdays. I will go back and take a picture of the mosque another day. In fact I could do a different mosque every day and probably not run out of them for a year or more!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.