Red Zone

This is in earthquake rubble but not in the red zone. But I thinking about those who live in the red zone, whose land is damaged beyond repair and who wonder how they can afford to live anywhere else. It must be so hard.

And then there are those whose land is classified blue, orange, white or crazy green (when clearly damaged). It's easy to forget how many live with huge unknowns and years of limbo and uncertainty. Poppies in the rubble remind me not to forget.

It wasn't warm or summer-like today but it wasn't raining so I was back on my bike. So much easier to accomplish 4 errands after work. With damaged roads and many still closed off, other parts of the city are clogged and hectic. I much prefer my bike.

I don't like to knock EQC for the sake of it but I had another puzzling experience with them today. I returned home to 2 envelopes from them both addressed to me and containing 3 identical pages of stuff and a freepost envelope.

EQC invited me to lodge a contents claim - twice. Ironically my one and only contents claim is settled. You'd think a quick check of my file would show that. If any of our new/old politicians are interested in waste and accountability, EQC is a good place to start.

Have a good end of the week blippers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.