Viaduct Basin

Sunrise is beating me these mornings; it is now earlier than I tend to wake up. The early morning light is still rather beautiful, and I do enjoy my runs more in the mornings, a double reason for heading out the door around 0600 am.

This morning I made my way down to the Viaduct area, where I have taken many photographs which have become blips. To reprise, when the first Americas Cup defence was held in Auckland this area was markedly altered and "upgraded". Until that time, the Viaduct Basin was home to the Auckland commercial fishing fleet, whch passed out of the basin into the Waitemata Harbour through a narrow channel over which passed the Viaduct Harbour Bridge, a rolling lift bridge which would let boats through as needed. Development took the fishing fleet out, created a new entry to the basin further west, by demolishing the western end of the viaduct, and developed areas around the basin for the yachting syndicates to establish a base.

This photograph shows some of the expensive yachts berthed here (the "Super Yachts" are elsewhere), and in front of the cranes are some of the sheds for various syndicates, including Team New Zealand, waiting for the return of Americas Cup yachting to Auckland.

I did decrease the shadow in the lower right corner a bit; otherwise this is as it emerged from the camera.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.