Boomtown China

By KevinIMitton

Gawking at the headlines, hawking the haws

On my lunch break today I passed by a man who seemed more interested in reading his newspaper than hawking his haws.

Haws are the fruit of the hawthorn pronounced 'bing tang hu lu' in Chinese. I've been advised not to eat them because of the additives added to make them appear redder than red. I did them once several years ago, in Beijing, they tasted a little bit like candied crab apples.

He's reading a copy of the World News Daily; well that's roughly how it translates into English. Strangely enough the article he's reading is about an election in Taiwan. Of course, elections are not held on the mainland yet the official line is "Taiwan is part of China".

I passed by him again half an hour later and he was still engrossed in reading his paper.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.