Winter Storm


Spent all day in a strategy session for one company, then all evening talking about strategy for another. The second meeting was in the pub (plus!) with a friend (plus!) but I'm still suffering from non-specific malaise, I'm home late, I haven't had my dinner yet and I had to go out with a torch to inspect the roof...

The winter storm today didn't really live up to it's promise. Most of the disruption I saw or heard about was caused by over-reaction to the threat of bad weather rather than actual bad weather. This downed lamp-post head and two three small trim-boards off my roof were the only actual damage I saw. Fortunately the roof problems are very minor - everything still looks watertight.

I've been evactuated from two buildings today however (the second evacuation we ignored), and everyone else seems to have gone home at lunchtime. I hope the warnings weren't just an over-reaction to the problems that caused the (ridiculous) resignation of our transport minister last year? How could I be so cynical.

One bright point - well done to Lothian Buses for keeping everything moving and getting me home!




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.