A Walk Through Deb's Life

By debsthoughts

First Snow

The hens don't care much for this time of year. They've slowed down on their laying habits. We're getting only one or two eggs per day and occasionally all five take a day off. I don't blame them really. A couple are moulting too, which causes me a bit of concern since losing one's feathers doesn't seem like a good idea when the temps are colder than they've been in seven months. But there's not much I can do about it so I'm trying not to worry. Much.

After the trip to California last weekend for my dad's memorial service, I feel a greater sense of relief. It is over. It is complete. Although not exactly complete - the phone is still ringing and I find myself still retelling the story to caring loved ones. There are still a few remaining business matters to check off my list. It is truly amazing how much there is to do to finalize everything. I'm wondering how hard it will be for me to cancel his one credit card. They won't even talk to me on the phone because my name is not on the account. It's one of the things about which I'm procrastinating. There doesn't seem to be much urgency on that matter.

He's been gone 40 days. And I think of him constantly. I wonder how he would feel about enduring another Chicago winter. I wonder if this year would be harder still for him to tolerate the cold. I wonder if he'd want to go out in it at all or if he'd choose to stay cozied up in his recliner chair with his quilt tucked in around him.

It's silly how the mind of the living works after losing someone dear. None of it matters now. He was a dear man - even if he did drive me nearly crazy.

PS: He loved the chickens.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.