Shocked at the price of trees!

The view from the garden centre doorway with Christmas trees on sale.

I'd been to have my hair cut in Silkstone and thought I'd have a look at the price of the trees - depending on size anything from £25 to £35+! Extortionate, I thought, for something that's effectively dead already. I wouldn't pay that for a living tree I could plant in the garden! Perhaps not quite as much in cost as the Harrogate trees, but still way too much. I might be decorating branches cut from the silver birch tree this year!

The rest of the day has been given over to preparing for next weeks exhibition. I needed some card to place behind the unmounted prints that will go in the browser, so a trip to Pinders art supplies in Sheffield was a priority. I now have a selection of unframed prints protected with a plastic wrap that can go on display. Lets hope the weather doesn't create us too many problems tomorrow.

Oh and as I write these I hear the headline news from Cameron and the EU - so now we are effectively divorced from Europe!! I think Yorkshire should join Scotland and go for devolution. How did we ever manage to elect these Eton adolescents to govern our country!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.