Today's Special

By Connections

Role Reversal

It was very cold this morning, with a heavy frost. As I went out to add some more items to our recycling bins, waiting on the curb to be emptied, my eye was caught by the tiny spicules of frost enhancing the top bin, almost like a fur ruff (yes, I have a vivid imagination...). "That would be a quick and easy blip!" I thought.

A quick trip back into the house to get my camera, then I was out again, right in front of our house, snapping photos of... garbage.

A neighbor on her way to work drove by to see what I was doing. I hadn't seen her for a while, so we caught up each other's lives, and of course I mentioned my flaming passion for Blipfoto and promised to send her my journal link. After she left, I dashed to the house to see what I had captured.

It was a disappointing collection of images. Pilipo was up by now, eagerly awaiting these, so I consulted with him on some technical details and went back out, determined to do better. The photo above and here in large is from that second shoot, which also included a ramble around the back jungle garden, looking for more photos.

If I hadn't wanted to use the title Role Reversal (because I was photographing garbage and Pilipo was photographing food), I would have shared my favorite back garden photo with you.

As Pilipo said in his blip today, normal service will be resumed tomorrow. It's the penultimate Saturday for the 2011 farmers' market and we are going to a holiday concert in the afternoon, so I should be able to find something more attractive than today's subject.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.