wander, stumble, wonder

By imo_weg

Ask a stranger

Today I did my bravest act this week. I asked a stranger for a photo. It's always been one of those things I'm scared to ask, but today I thought 'no, I can do this'.

At Christmas time Hobart has a park and ride service into town, and the bus drivers always make a grand effort to season up their buses. Tinsel, dingles, hats, ornaments. So today as I rode back to the car with bags surrounding my feet, I took a few mediocre photos of the interior, then noticed the driver and his surroundings, reflected in his passenger watching mirror. As are all the drivers on these buses, he was wonderfully cheerful, welcoming everyone on with enthusiasm and a smile. 'There's a better shot' I thought. So I steeled myself, waited until I was last off the bus, and with a smile asked 'Could I please have a photo? I've got this daily phtoo journal...' 'Och, I dinno, A'm not terribly photogenic' he replied with a grin.* 'Oh, it's your decorations, you can always just look away, out the window!' He nods consent, looks away, then as I aim he looks back my way.

So there we have it, my first go at asking a stranger for a photo.





*That's Scottish. Sorry, I had to try...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.