CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Stroud Farmers Market

Brrrrr!!! It was proper winter this morning, with a frozen white-out spread across the valley's fields and particularly on our car in the street. I had to take Helena to the station to catch a train to meet Christina, her niece, in Kingston-on-Thames, where they are going to a matinee of a panto at the Rose Theatre. I was going to go as well, but in the end I'm glad to have the time off at home.

After dropping her at 9-30am I went to the library and then strolled up to the farmers market, camera in hand. These two ladies were coping bravely with the cold, and I noticed that the woman on the left seems to have her hands clenched round an imaginary hot cup of tea. Business seemed brisk and there was good humour in the air. I was reminded of the Stroud Apple Day event a few weeks ago, and immediately after taking this picture, I found another stall selling the local Day's Cider and Apple juice, which hails from a nearby village in the Severn Vale. They had lots of mistletoe hanging from their stall's canopy, however I didn't feel like giving the gentleman who was selling on the stall a kiss. I'm sure he won't go without.

I found some mistletoe yesterday when Ashley sold me the christmas tree he had grown. they buy their mistletoe from a farm near Haresfield Beacon, where there is a profusion on the old apple trees in the orchards there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.