Photos of things I see

By Aboak

A cow walking about on the pavement

It's my first ever trip to India, where I am helping to train some colleagues in our Bangalore office.

As a British person, it is easy to experience Indian culture without leaving these shores. From its cuisine, to its festivals, to friendly colleagues, all of which have enriched our lives and taken root firmly in the UK.

But today, I got a chance to have a wander through some actual Indian streets and see a little bit of India for myself.

As I left the serenity of my plush hotel, I asked myself: surely the cliches of India aren't true...?

Cows wandering the streets - check
Utterly insane driving - check
Teeming and chaotic streets - check
Horrendously overladen lorries - check
Strong spicy smells everywhere - check

So, I am happy to report that India meets all expectations.

See some more street scenes here
here
and here

It's all wonderful though and if I may acknowledge another cliche about the people themselves - they are thoroughly delightful and a credit to their nation.

If we were all a little bit more Indian, the world would be a better place.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.