A Sasanach's Skye photos

By Sasanach

Monkey Puzzle

Image 366. I regret it is impossible to follow yesterday's spectacular image with something so good.

Here we have two Monkey Puzzles growing in the front garden of a house in Staffin Road. Though most of us know it as Monkey Puzzle how many also know it as the Chilean Pine or its botanic name of Araucaria Araucana.

If you have bought its timber from a merchant you will have bought it as Chilean Pine; it has a straight grain and is a lovely orange colour. If you are or were a gardener like myself then you may prefer the botanic name. Me though, like you I recognise it by its common name, I really like its botanic name.

We went for a Sunday walk up this road, got a thorough soaking and have now returned to start preparing for Christmas. This means packing away some furniture, moving a load more. In fact transforming our wee place entirely. Please excuse me if I get on with it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.