Snappy Happy Chappy

By stustod

Making an effort

After six days of doing nowt and paddling bout the house in me slippers, today, come hail or sunshine I was going out on my bike, no matter what!

It set off ok, maybe a tad cold, but I can do cold......just.
Camera comes out just the once on the lakeside road.

Going up kirkstone and its raining. Bloody cold wet rain. Its still ok, my hands are still dry, but I'm beginning to feel water in my bike shoes.
I know when I'm at the top I should turn back, but I'm too stubborn and before I know it I'm in Windermere... and I'm soaked and cold.

I hit a big flood in the road about 30ft long going to Burnisde. If my feet weren't fully wet to the bone, they are now.
Shap Summit and my gloves are holding a gallon of frozen water and another gallon in each shoe. I'm pissed off now.
Shap comes and its beginning to dry up, but I'm battered and the next ten miles are torture.
I fall off the bike in the drive and stumble into the kitchen, where son looks, shakes his head and walks out, sniggering. It takes me 10 minutes to peel me clobber off and I'm convinced I have lost the use of my fingers.

A 20 minute shower later and a mug of tea and I start thinking about my blip -

worra loser eh.

and if IWC dares tell me that my blip isn't quite straight....

Changed blip a little while later.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.