Meet Flopsy, one lucky squirrel!

This is Flopsy, a female black squirrel. We call her Flopsy because she hops or crawls, she seems healthy enough and gets around slowly but I think has had some spinal problem. She can sit up but wobbles a little and she can climb, though not quickly. Today I saw the Cooper's hawk going after two crows - quite an aerial show. The crows landed in one tree and the hawk in another (this was on the other side of the field). Flopsy got a shelled almond and was heading north up the sidewalk when the crow flew past with the hawk on her tail. I ran outside because it was in the same direction Flopsy went. I didn't see anything at first but walking four doors up when I saw the hawk on the patio and Flopsy trying to hide on the ground by the patio door. I shuffled my feet loudly and the hawk flew off. A very close call for Flopsy! I stood outside for a while and watched the hawk in the tree across the field until it flew over the school and headed further away. Flopsy followed me back home for some more nuts. Here she is looking at me; I think saying "Thank you!"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.