where paths meet

By WherePathsMeet

Europe - a look at the map

[If this is deemed not to be a site for such an entry I will readily accept moderation that declines to accept the entry as appropriate.]

Europe and the UK - what does the future hold? It feels as though an important juncture is being reached.

Amidst all the debate about the British veto, I would like to record my thoughts in this journal.

My atlas dates from 2001, shortly after momentous changes to the political map of Germany and eastern Europe. Since then the changes have been relatively minor.

The EEC grew out of the understandable and entirely laudable desire to avoid yet more wars. However, many, I believe, are right to be very wary of grandiose designs of political union that have developed, especially where the languages, cultures and economies are so diverse. The undemocratic nature of the EU and the enormous difficulties in trying to unify the economies under the euro I believe to be leading to trouble rather than gain for the 26 countries.

I greatly dislike the word "eurosceptic" because it is perfectly possible to greatly appreciate the peoples across Europe whilst being anti EU. It is not xenophobic to have concerns about a political project that appears to be the source of trouble for many countries. Greece, Spain, Ireland, Portugal and Italy all have real underlying problems, but they are greatly exacerbated in my view by being tied in to the Euro where flexibility in responding to local circumstances is so limited. So, I believe, the most "europhile" stance is to warn of the dangerous direction the EU has been taking.

Personally, I feel a huge sense of relief that our Prime Minister exercised the veto, but obviously there are still ongoing concerns for Britain as well as for our European friends who seem so bent on pursuing the course of political and economic union.

I have little idea whether this analysis will prove to be right, but I want to record some thoughts in this space where there will be the possibility of looking back in the future and seeing how far these comments prove to be accurate.

The majority in terms of numbers are not always right. I am not too concerned for Britain, there are many smaller countries that flourish outside great blocks. I would, however, say that I hope that some others of the 26 will start to question the wisdom of their commitment to the EU and the euro.

It certainly seems appropriate for there to be a picture of the present map of Europe as an image on the site in the days in which we are living. It would be great if the apparent significance of the last few days diminishes and that things resolve happily across the continent, but I somehow think the economic difficulties and their consequences not over by any means.

This political diversion is a complete exception and is not likely to be repeated in a hurry. It just strikes me as the most important issue for the UK and Europe for our generation.

I will not enter into any discussion in the comments, it would be appreciated if they were not used either to agree or disagree with the views expressed. The picture itself hardly merits comment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.