Chiara

By Chiara

Harlem blue line stop

See this doctor's office? I practically lived there during first quarter of 2010, when my doctor and his residents constantly tried to identify that lump behind my right knee. It was in this office when my doctor informed me that it was a tumor, and that I needed surgery. After the tumor was removed (and I refused radiation therapy), I waited in this office with bated breath every three months after undergoing an MRI scan, dreading the terrible news that the tumor had grown back. Every time, the doctor happily told me that my knee was in the clear; there was no sign of a recurrent tumor... yet.

Today, after an hour in the MRI machine for the millionth time, I made my way up to this ever-so-familiar office. While waiting for my doctor to come in, I couldn't help but sneak a look at the MRI technician's report, which was already open on the monitor; my knee was still in good shape (other than scarring tissue)!

The doctor proceeded to inform that I don't need to undergo any more MRI scans (HURRAH!), but I still have to come in every 4 months for a thorough physical exam. Awesome news! I believe that the chance of the tumor growing back has dropped to 10% or so.

My knee is always sore, and I experience sharp bursts of pain every day. I believe my knee will cause discomfort for the rest of my life, but that's OK. I would take that over a tumor any day of the week!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.