Simply Me

By Suze981

The Green Triangle

Today was my father's birthday. He died just over a decade ago. It seems like a long time ago.

I idolised my dad, I loved him so much, I thought he was amazing. I was Daddy's little girl.

I always knew he had his flaws, he was an alcoholic and died of liver disease. It's only as I've gotten older that his flaws take on a whole new meaning for me. He was a controlling man and at times not a very nice person at all.

It turns out, in my last relationship at least, if you remove the alcohol, I chose a man just like my dad. Don't they say that all women look for someone like their dad? I have another father-figure now, I hope I find someone like him for my next relationship.

Anyway, I still remember my dad as the man I adored. This was his favourite Quality Street chocolate: the noisette whirl. Back in those days it was an oblong swirl shape, now it is The Green Triangle.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.