EgyptUnveiled

By EgyptUnveiled

An evening in Luxor

Blipping is taking over my life!

Due to no internet again until now, I was not able to BLIP this last night, you can't imagine how disappointed I was. I am 'On' to my provider as we speak.

I rarely go out at night to the East side, living on the West, it involves crossing the river and it is a little chilly later on and when you are snuggled up at home, it's not so appealing to 'Cross'

A friend had arranged for us to visit a mutual friend of ours and his Boxing club. I had intended to Blip about it as it is an amazing thing he is doing for the kids of Luxor. BUT, due to lack of electricity, my camera did not want to play, so no photographs.... No problem, that is a Blip for another day :-)

Heading back, I wandered around the streets of Luxor to pick up a few things on the way home. Turning into the Square of Abu El Hagag, I noticed that the Luxor Temple lights were on. What a treat, as I normally only see the lit temple from the other side of the river.

This happens to be one of my favourite temples here, I can't explain why, it just feels very comfortable and of course has a spectacular position directly upon the Nile.

Built largely by Amenhotep III and Ramesses II around 1400BC. Its main purpose was to celebrate the Festival of Opet.

Many great rulers after this time, have built on to the temple yet it always remained a place of worship for Christians and later Muslims. The Mosque of Abu El Hagag was built inside the temple in the 13th Century and has recently been magnificently restored.

The last time I visited the Temple, was for the recent event of 11-11-11 with a group of friends.

So all was not lost, I snapped some fabulous photo's of Luxor by night and have a Blip in reserve!


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.