Don't Worry-I'm a Pro

By AllenFreeman

Trip Last Day

I took two of my kids bowling. After that I said let's go to the Space Needle! I really wanted to get up there and get some night shots. My son Dustin said sure. So we jumped in the car and drove the 30 minutes north of where we were and got there about 8:00 PM. We parked near a football stadium and heard a band playing in the bleachers. So we walked in and checked it out. Then we walked up some steps and there was the Space Needle. I was snapping shots from right under it. ($16 each for tickets) Then we got on the elevator to go up, and the guy said that it would be dark in 90 minutes. We looked at each other, not thinking it would be more than 15 minutes. But we later realized the guy was right. We staked out a spot on the outside shelf that you can stand on. There are cables to keep you from hanging over the edge. I had a small tripod and it fit just right on the window sill and I could shoot between the cables. I got some great shots before dark and then the magic moment when it is almost dark but you can still see the sky and I set the camera to manual and took some 2 second exposures, 3 and 5 etc.....getting all the shots I could. Surely something would turn out right. (Note: This is how the shot looks right of the camera. No lie. No manipulations needed!) I shot in RAW of course.

Well, we later got back to the car and had a parking ticket. Seems this sign that was almost run over and tilting toward the sidwalk must of been telling us something we should have known. ($38)

But it was well worth it. I got to hang with my son a bit longer and got a great shots of Seattle. This is just one of the many I took.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.