Docadiem

By Kathee

Glassy-Eyed Mini Me

I found this mural at the entrance to the Ladies room in the Tucson airport. Stiff-armed, eyes fixated straight ahead with feet ready to
go a different direction from her body. For me, she pays homage to the inexperienced flier lost in the foreign airport world. I was that girl this summer. To understand my story, I need to
take you farther back to March 2011.

Part 1- Friday Night Phone Call

"Is this Kathee?"
"Yes," I said, waiting for a sales pitch.
Talking faster, he said," Kathee, it's nice to meet you. After two years of searching we just about gave up"
"We?" I said.
"Your five cousins."
Cue the music. Cut to commercial. I need to absorb. I have family? Beyond Nmbr1
and two furry children?
Family. That word sounded so good. We bonded. So, I powered-up my courage, flew to Kentucky, and spent a week with them in August of 2911. Now you know the back story. The rest, us about my misadventures in Denver International Airport.
I flew today from Tucson, a much different trip, yet, it did bring back my DIA exper. Which is part 2, the front story.

Part 2 this weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.