The Wren

By TheWren

All lit up

I'm up early to try and publish my blip from last night. I am finding it hard to remember that we are 8 hours behind the UK and so feel I am always trying to play catch up.

The day was still very overcast and the heavy clouds over the hills meant that more snow was falling. My daughter-in-law had an early call to say that a number of folk were going up to ski and there was a space for her in the car, so that was an exciting flurry as she got skiis etc ready for her first skiing of the season. They are very fortunate here as, despite the fact we are basically in the desert, they are only 25 minutes drive away from the ski slopes on Mt Charleston.

My son and I spent a quiet day as we were waiting for some deliveries to arrive and then in the evening we all set off for the Strip. I was being treated to a belated birthday present and we had tickets for The Lion King which was at the theatre in Mandalay Bay, one of the big complexes on the Strip. It was an amazing experience. The moment you entered you were met with one arm bandits everywhere, then the gaming tables, restaurants, shops, bars and the theatre. The decor was opulent without being over the top. We had a delicious but quick meal then on to the show - which was simply superb. Afterwards they took me into an outside lift and we sped to the top floor bar where we had the most incredible view right over the Strip. It was quite cold as we were on an outside balcony - a bit scary as I do suffer a wee bit from vertigo - but then the sight of the Strip all lit up took over my senses, plus I soon became aware that big heaters were helping to keep us warm. The Mandalay Bay has a gold reflective facade which looks stunning both in daylight and at night time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.