The second half of life..

By twigs

Work, walk, play

Rain!

Yes - it rained continuously overnight again and despite the meterologists saying it was due to let up around midday, it continued until late afternoon. I'm very lucky - my garage has had 2 inches of water and the sewerage has continued to flow past my front gate, but my house is intact, nothing is damaged and everthing will dry out.

Some local residents have not been so lucky. There have been many, many slips around the region, some of which have gone through peoples homes, some of which have wiped out roads leaving residents stranded or communities cut off and some of which have put homes at risk of slipping. Over in Golden Bay, they've had 549mm of rain in 48 hours including almost 390mm yesterday. Nelson's had 248mm.

It wasn't all bad though it seems - these girls were doing some body boarding on what was a very deserted Tahunanui beach whilst the workmen continued work to clean up some of the mess. The water isn't it's usual summery blue-green today though!! Even whilst I photographed this along Rocks Road, I heard a rumble above my head which turned out to be more debris coming down off the cliff-face. Rocks Road - one of only 2 roads into town from the south - was closed all day which caused big traffic issues on the other road.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.