Sprout lover

By robharris35

'I found myself in the Himalayas'

This is Varkala, on the coast of Kerala. It's a favourite hangout of hippies and backpackers. I didn't hang around here long because I am wary of people who have 'found themselves in the Himalayas', and this is the kind of place where I could imagine that line being uttered.

It's a strange mishmash of a place. A traditional fishing community borders a strip of hippy hostels and cafes selling tourist favourites like banana pancakes. Fishermen lay out their nets on the sand while girls in skimpy bikinis frolic in the waves a few metres away, in front of a lovely turquoise mosque. Barefoot men carry bundles of coconuts along the cliff paths past dreadlocked travellers tapping away on their ipads using the free wifi at hotels with sea views.

An interesting place of contrasts but nice to spend a few hours lazing on the beach.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.