Docadiem

By Kathee

I'm a Pawn Star

Today was- as a teen-aged friend of mine would say,"a great day to be me."
So I'm in Detroit, and I gotta visit
the American Jewelry & Loan store. Portal to the wacky world of "Hardcore Pawn." A tru TV show, I hope you get in your area.
It's popular for it's in-your-face
action. Les Gold owns the joint. Son, Seth and daughter, Ashley spend the majority of their time back- stabbing, swearing and tattling. on each other. Big time sibling rivalry.
The slice-of-life action comes from the customers. They've made the decision to pawn a "most valuable" possession. Hoping for top dollar, things turn ugly when they're denied.
My intent today- run inside, snap a blip, leave. Wait a minute folks, a full camera crew is taping an episode. All the major players are at work. Boom mikes hang over jewelry cases, and transactions are filmed. Me, I'm soaking the atmosphere, enjoying the surprisingly friendly staff. While I searched for the definitive blip, Lydia, the producer approached me.
"How would you like to be part of the show?"
"You mean swear and throw things?"
A laugh, "How about trying on a fur coat?"
"Really? I can do that."
My instructions-show a little attitude, strut my stuff in front of the mirror. That was easy to do, The red mink belonged to Betty Boop, along with- boa, purse and lamp shade style hat. A ham at heart, I had soooo much fun. I closed the deal by signing two releases, Look for me in February.
This Blip shows Betty in my outfit. Jury's out-who looks better in this $1,000 finery.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.