surely you can see

By petergarver

This sort of blip happens to me once a year or so. I don't try to fight it anymore.

I haven't posted in a while, for various reasons. I've been doing a lot of work, but also struggling against the idea of being an independent contractor with a website and all. The struggle is over (see below), but it was there.

I've also been playing a lot of games with my computers - these three blips are my first three from this new computer, which is going to be my only computer in a few months once i get everything sorted out. But sorting everything out involves hundreds of gigs of raws, online backups, and other unpleasant things.

Thirdly, in the midst of my struggle with becoming a contractor, someone offered me a job (that I did not apply for). We just finished the paperwork today, so now I'm going back to the fulltime job world. It's nice for several reasons, not the least because I don't have to hustle for jobs now.

And finally, I got a compact camera. I had not used one in a while, since my Fuji F20 fell out of favor a few years back (the lens was just too bad). I noticed that the Canon S90 had gotten quite affordable, so I got one.

My initial thought was that I would get rid of my SLR, but still have a "spare camera", and also that I would be able to downsize on a lot of occasions. After using it for a few days and looking at the raws, I feel like I should get rid of my mirrorless camera, because this little tiny sensor is competitive with it for the kind of images I take most often.

It's not as good, of course, but I feel like this little thing and an SLR might be a better team. Or at least something with a better sensor than the pathetic Panasonic 12mp 4/3 sensor. I've used it pretty much every day for over two years, and it's not really in the same league as my SLR. I can only imagine how it would compare to the magical new Sony 16.3mp sensor. Or a 36x24.

Enough sensor talk. Tomorrow I will take more than a single picture, unlike today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.