Christingle

Last day of term for my children today. Well it was for my son - my daughter ended up home poorly (always one ill at this time!). Had to drag her off the sofa to go to school Christingle service at the church.

The older children had made the lovely coloured lamps from glass jars that went really well with the stained glass and the white washed walls. A beautiful service with carols, readings and prayers. Good way to end term and to remind us what Christmas is about and to think of those less fortunate than ourselves.

Christingle services raise money for the Children's Society and the symbolic orange (world) with candle (Jesus light of the world), red ribbon (His sacrifice) and 4 sticks with sweets on (harvests from 4 corners of the world) are a simple way to get the message across. Needless to say the sweets don't last long...

I am working on a YouTube video of the singing but in the meantime I have a brief snippet of my daughter in school choir on Monday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.