Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Costa Stairs

So, at some unearthly hour this morning, the Wonderspouse woke me up, telling me that my tea was ready and that I should get a shufty on because it was snowing and we should get out of the village in case we couldn't later on.

It was snowy, even settled on the road up the hill, but fortunately we haven't had a big freeze recently, so there wasn't a problem with driving. We parked up early, got a bus reasonably quickly, and landed up on Cornmarket at around 7.30!

Since it was the last day of the CELTA today, the day that has been marked in my calendar since the course started, I treated myself to a second breakfast - latte and pastries. I sat, comfortable on the sofa in Costa, wondering what would happen if I simply spent the day asleep in there!

Oh, and I took a photo of the stairs, because I rather like them. I like spiral staircases, and will have several in my dream house!

Then it was off to reprographics, to make the last lot of handouts, overhead slides and so on. Then to the room to set up.

Then to another room to set up again - apparently there was some reason we couldn't use the usual room!

The lesson was OK. I'd hoped it would be a bit wizzier, but I think I have simply run out of steam now. Let's hope it's enough.

Then a colleague taught her last lesson, another couple did a few activities with the students, and we went for the last bits of admin for the course. Seems rather strange that it's all over now. We had to do a feedback form. Just like at the tutorial a few weeks ago, we were asked if we'd enjoyed the course. I was as perplexed by the question as I was before. I'm still never quite sure about "enjoying" things!

Afterwards quite a few of us went out for lunch. Marvellous - definitely a good day when there are 2 breakfasts and a lunch! I had a lamb burger and fries! Yummy. Afterwards there was cake because it was someone's birthday. At the end of the meal there was a chunk of cake that people seemed to be just leaving behind, so I rescued it, wrapped it in a serviette, and put it into my bag!

When I got home, the Wonderspouse said I was the Patron Saint of Lost Cakes!

I now have pudding tonight! Hurrah! It's been a really good food day!

Then I poddled about town a bit, feeling slightly disorientated. What do I do now? Following 2 years of basically being "off sick", I've now found a structure to life again. I KNOW I need a rest now, but I do feel rather bereft. Maybe this is what "enjoy" means? Who knows!

I got the bus back up to Scharwenka's. He was still out at a lunch in College (not CELTA college, but the original one), no doubt drinking some alcohol with the other diners! However, Mrs Scharwenka was home from having lunch with her friends, so she and I had tea together, which was very nice - she even gave me a biscuit (more good food)!

Then I paused at Sainsbury's to get meat, milk and eggs. I had to call the Wonderspouse from the beef section because there were so many different sorts! It's very confusing if you're me!

Then I came home. The first thing I did was fill in a form about my ratkeeping experience for a lady at a rattery.

Then the Wonderspouse got back and now he's cooking supper, and I'm sitting on the sofa with a large glass of wine. I don't have an assignment to write (just a few minor corrections to the last one, which I'll do tomorrow and e-mail in to college), and I don't have a lesson to plan. Provisional results will apparently be issued next week or thereabouts, so all I can do is wait.

Well, there's actually plenty else to do. I have Scharwenka coming for pheasant lunch on Monday, and a Welsh assignment due on Tuesday, so that'll keep me out of trouble, not to mention cages to clean, washing to wash, and a house that looks like it hasn't been cleaned for around 12 weeks (which, coincidentally, is the length of the CELTA course)!

However, tonight it's me, wine, supper, my whiskered companions, and a trashy action film on the telly! Hurrah!

I made it! I'm still rather gobsmacked by the whole thing. This time last year I couldn't have begun to contemplate what I've actually achieved in the last 12 weeks.

I'm going to take a rest for a couple of weeks now, do a bit of festive stuff (i.e. drink sherry, eat goose, eat salmon, listen to Christmas Oratorio), catch up with my Welsh course, do some gentle work in preparation for the maths courses starting in February, play my viola, read some books, start on my CV, sort my e-mails and messages out, spend lots of time with felines, rodents, and the Wonderspouse, catch up with washing and housework, and generally get things back into balance again.

After that I'll be looking for some work, and starting to build the new career and the new life. Over Christmas and the New Year, the Wonderspouse and I usually make goals for the year to come. I certainly think 2011 has been a significant year for me in many ways (maybe I'll write a review of it sometime), and I hope I can carry the so many good things that have happened through to 2012.

And I hope I shall be able to get back to a bit more blip activity. It's been rather hit and miss for the last 12 weeks!

Lots of plans, lots of hopes, lots of goals and things to do.

But first a short rest.

And some sleep!

Phew!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.