Chronic Sunshine

By ChronicSunshine

Choices

Towards the end of my grandfather's life, he began to give away his possessions. He wanted to make sure his most precious treasures were given to those he loved.

There was only one thing, or a group of things, that mattered the most to me: his pictures. (Naturally!) He had hundreds of family photos, going back several generations. Thankfully, he was already planning on giving them to me. He also gave me a Bible that his grandmother had given him as a young boy. I was quite pleased, as I am a very sentimental person.

My Pa was a very cultured man. He had traveled the world and had collected many interesting trinkets over the years. There were a few things M coveted...especially his book collection. Also, the subject of this photograph. Admittedly, I had never seen anything like it before. Pa was thrilled someone found it as interesting as he did.

It now hangs on the wall in our living room. :)

"All the art of living lies in a fine mingling of letting go and holding on." ~ Henry Ellis

(M took this photo. As he likes to dabble in photography, we're going to start taking turns capturing photos for the blips.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.