Simon's 20XX Journal

By simondownie

Little Rita

I made up that name, I'm going to be honest.

I've been looking for an excuse to get out and about with my camera, and today I finally made the leap. I ate at a small cafe on Thursday night with one of my colleagues (who is also along in the city). He pointed out that we were really close to the 798 Art District, which I'd heard a lot about.

We're talking old factory buildings, plenty of street art (sculpture and graffiti), and loads of small art shops. Now I need to go back and explore the little shops, but today I'd decided to take some shots.

The weather was good, and the location was quite well sheltered, so the sun was never too bright on anything. Little Rita here was not too long after I'd gotten the desire up to get the camera out (nothing like looking conspicuous with a camera in a foreign country)...but sure enough, there were hundreds of people with cameras, and I blended in well enough.

Tianan'men tomorrow with the same, lonely colleague...am looking forward to some people watching (and being watched).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.