Nothing and Everything

By Gabe

The Tolbooth Steeple

Had the late shift at work tonight, which isn't too bad really. I say late, I was away by 6:15. One good thing about being in Merchant city after dark is that they really know how to light up their buildings. This time f year I see it almost everyday, an I'm still taken by it.

There were loads of people streaming by tonight, presumably on there way from one of the parking lots toward a works night out. Speaking of which, After taking this I headed over to the GFT (Glasgow Film Theatre) to tag along with Shiela's work do. We had a couple drinks in the bar then went in to see that seminal classic "It's Wonderful Life." I had a few photo's from aferwards standing outside the Theatre, but they weren't any good.

This is a picture of the old Tolbooth Steeple on Glasgow Cross in Merchant City. It's all that's left of the original city chambers, town clerk's office, debtors prison, and site of many hangings in years past. If you look along the sid you can see where the roof line was.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.