send me back to the wild!

By davidpritchard

Pocket watch

Tonight I broke out the close-up dioptre to shoot a detail shot of the pocket watch that I got for my 21st birthday. I managed to light it with a single flash gun positioned at the 8 o'clock position, bounced off a white surface placed at the 3 o'clock position. Doing this, I managed to get a bit of fill on the raised lid while giving a nice even light inside the watch.

I think that the close-up capabilities of the Tamron 18-270 PZD are probably one of it's strongest suits. You have to be careful with the focusing though. You can see here just how narrow the depth of field is, even with a moderate aperture. This of course is down to the fact that I was using a high focal length to isolate the detail.

Nikon D300; Tamron 18-270mm PZD @ 250mm; ISO 200; F/14; 1/200s. VC on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.