Tour of Japan

By Ish

Ladies and gentlemen, allow me to introduce the #1 landscape garden in Japan, if not the whole world, as honoured by the Sukiya Living Magazine (AKA Journal of Japanese Gardens) 2010.
This is the garden of the Adachi Museum of Art, Shimane Prefecture. After climbing up the rankings over a period of 30 years, this is their 8th consecutive year at the top spot.

This garden is simply beautiful and of the many photos I took at different angles and vantage points it was difficult to choose just one to show you. But if I've managed to convey just a fraction of its magnificence then I've succeeded. I may need to dedicate a whole album to it on that bookface website.

The museum featured some sublime artwork by Japanese artists.
Whilst I'm on the subject, I have to praise the Shimane Art Museum which is quite possibly the best in the whole of Japan. It features works by Japanese and European artists and the special exhibition was exceptionally exquisite. Notable mentions go to The National Museum of Western Art and the Edo-Tokyo Museum for its comprehensive showcase of Japanese history.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.