Docadiem

By Kathee

Departed? Without me?

My blip was taken today from my window seat on board a friendly American Airlines jet.
My blip-write takes us back to August 3rd, and a very different travel experience. At some point I figured I'd write about my flight to Kentucky. As trips go, it carries a lot of significance, visiting my long lost cousins, and all. For the backstory see Part 1, December 13th.
I arrive at DIA 3 hours early -no luggage to check-zipped through security - headed to gate printed on my ticket.
What happens next, I blame on my sunglasses. Those snazzy, sexy red Nike shades that just happened to go missing. Hyper-focused on them-I found a corner and tore into my luggage. I figured everyone would start standing up when time to board.
However, nobody moved cuz I was at the wrong gate. Who knew gates changed at last minute? Not me.
My plane sat on the tarmac a mere 4 gates away, with door closed and only a few stray McDonald's coffee cups left behind littering the floor.
I felt such deep anger at myself. What kind of an idiot misses a plane? This idiot.
As you can imagine, there wasn't much interest in helping idiot girl. My option- wait 7 hours to fly stand-by, maybe get on. Then I was put on hold in India, and all around admonished for my stupidity.
Even though I'm a crying self -flagellating wuss, I don't give up. No, means, 'let me try harder'. It took 3 hours but someone took pity on me - sent me along with a 3 hour layover to meet my cousins by 10:00 pm.
Lucky, you bet. I think I finally found the right agent because I never accused them, never got mad, but of course there was that endless crying.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.