You have to smile...

By ams

The Original

and the best.

I've never been a big 'filmy' much prefer telly. Therefore, my favourite films tend to be ones I've watched three hundred times since childhood.

They're mostly classic family favourites, therefore tend to be shown at Christmas time (and these days, with the plethora of channels requiring things to film them, most weekends).

Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory falls under this heading, and I was delighted to turn the TV on this afternoon just in time for it to kick off.
Truly magical. I often wondered as I became a teenager and adult, how wonderful it would have been if they'd made it now. Then Johnny Depp had a go, and I was vastly disappointed. Depp's Wonka is terrifying, Wonka shouldn't be terrifying, apart from at that moment near the end where he explodes because Charlie and Grandpa Joe have stolen Fizzy Lifting Drinks.

I do wish they'd made the sequel (Great Glass Elevator) though, I loved that book, almost more than the original!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.